My thoughts on the news of a 1.5 rating for “Chuck vs. the Muuurder”

Don’t Quit

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,
When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,
When the funds are low and the debts are high,
And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,
When care is pressing you down a bit,
Rest, if you must, but don’t you quit.

Life is queer with its twists and turns,
As every one of us sometimes learns,
And many a failure turns about,
When he might have won had he stuck it out;
Don’t give up though the pace seems slow–
You may succeed with another blow.

Often the goal is nearer than,
It seems to a faint and faltering man,
Often the struggler has given up,
When he might have captured the victor’s cup,
And he learned too late when the night slipped down,
How close he was to the golden crown.

Success is failure turned inside out–
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt,
And you never can tell how close you are,
It may be near when it seems so far,
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit–
It’s when things seem worst that you must not quit.

– Author unknown (This poem was a lot of comfort to me when I was going through a rough time in high school)

“It ain’t over ’til it’s over.” –Yogi Berra

My fellow fans of Chuck, whether you are Chuck & Sarah “shippers,” Buy-Morians, JEFFSTER groupies, or a mixture of all of the above:

I know you are all horribly disappointed and disheartened by the news that the ratings for last night’s Chuck dipped to a new series low of 1.5 in the 18-49 age demographic. Believe me, so am I.

I’ve seen many of you post on Twitter and in comments pages that you are afraid that this season will be Chuck‘s last, or that you have resigned yourselves to the “fact” that Chuck won’t get another season. Believe me, I am afraid of that possibility as well.

Make no mistake: Whether it is this year, next year, or sometime in the future the day will come when even the most hardcore Chuck fans lose their love & enthusiasm for the show, or at least will not be as enthusiastic about it as they used to be, but that day is not here yet.

Whether it is this year or next year, the day will come when NBC will cancel Chuck, Team Bartowski will undertake its last mission, JEFFSTER will sing their last song, and the Buy More’s doors will close for the last time.

That day is not here yet! Today, we can still spread the word about Chuck to people who haven’t seen it yet! Today, we can still send postcards to advertisers thanking them for their support of the show! Today, we can still go to http://www.rewardtv.com and answer questions about the episode and its commercials! In the coming weeks, we will still have at least five more new Chuck episodes to enjoy!

Today, if you still consider yourself a fan of this show, then for the sake of whatever you enjoy about it–the comedy, the action, the romance, the positive messages it has about loyalty, friendship and family–I ask you to keep fighting for it in any way you can! If this is indeed the end of the line for Chuck, so be it, but let’s not have it be because we threw in the towel before it was all said and done!

LONG LIVE TEAM BARTOWSKI!!! LONG LIVE CHUCK!!!

P.S. Some videos for you to watch:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My thoughts on the news of a 1.5 rating for “Chuck vs. the Muuurder”

  1. Lyn says:

    I love Chuck, and have done from the start. Unfortunately living in the UK our opinion doesn’t count where it matters-in the ratings. Shows have been cancelled before we even had the chance to see them. I find a way to watch each and every new episode and hope that Chuck continues for a few more seasons.
    BTW I’m a Casey fan, would love the chance to find his ‘inner calm’. 😉

  2. Giovanni says:

    Really enjoyed reading your post, Matt. I got to say that I’m living in Italy and therefore being counted seems impossible. I’ll try my best to carry on board some people we already know into Chuck’s fan base. However, those ratings scared me, yeah. But why not, I hope Chuck will continue to live. One Gear: Long Live Chuck Bartowski!

  3. Cheryl Stewart says:

    Ummm hai. u already know I loved this 🙂 Plz keep writing! u raise very good points & the poem is perfect. Sry to hear abt ur rough patch in high schl but I’m glad u made it thru.

  4. Carina says:

    Thanks for the encouragement! I’m the only Chuckster in this part of my little rural world, so I’m a nervous wreck with no moral support. Thank goodness for internet fandom!

  5. Pingback: My thoughts as we approach the “Final Five” for “Chuck” Season 4 | Matt's Blog

Leave a Reply

