A quick “Chuck” post on the return of Daniel Shaw

“Yet give the devil his due; Says grace before he doth a deed of villainy.”
–Sir Walter Scott, Kenilworth, ch. 4

“Without darkness, there can be no light.”
–Lao Tzu

I just wanted to quickly throw in my two cents about the return of “Chuck’s most reviled enemy,” our old “favorite,” the one we love to hate, Agent Daniel Shaw.

I know I’m gonna get a lot of “What?? Are you crazy?” about this, but I for one am genuinely happy to see him return! As I discussed in this earlier blog post, I am one of the few who enjoyed the Shaw story arc from Season 3, though I will admit it could have been executed more smoothly, particularly where “vs. the Mask” is concerned (Sarah’s attitude towards Shaw changed too abruptly; it would’ve been better if it was more gradual, or if she hadn’t been so hostile to him to begin with, or both). I think, though, there’s another reason why I’m happy to see Shaw return, even if it is just for one episode, and even if it is–as so many Chuck fans are fervently hoping–just so he can serve as a bullet sponge courtesy of Chuck, Sarah, Casey, or all of the above.

In order to explain that reason, a bit of background is required. As I believe I’ve mentioned on Twitter a few times, I didn’t become a fan of Chuck until February 2010, during the Olympic hiatus. What brought me into the Chuck fan community was the video game Mass Effect 2, and finding out in a behind-the-scenes featurette for the game that Yvonne Strahovski and Adam Baldwin had done voice acting in it. I had been familiar with Adam already, having seen him in quite a few movies over the years, and of course in Firefly and Serenity, but I didn’t know offhand who Yvonne was before then.

Seeing them both in that Mass Effect 2 BTS video, however, jogged my memory of a very brief clip I had seen of them both in a past episode of Chuck (I realized later that it had been from the S1 episode “vs. the Crown Vic”). At that point, I decided, “Well, I’ve never really seen Chuck before, so I ought to give it a shot.” A while later, I got around to purchasing the Pilot episode on my XBox to download and watch. When I was done watching it, I asked myself, “Why in the name of God Almighty haven’t I been watching this show all along?!?” The rest, as they say, is history. 🙂

I powered through Season 1 in about a week thanks to http://www.thewb.com, which at the time had all 13 Season 1 episodes available to watch, bought the Season 2 DVDs and watched them in about a week, and then watched Episodes 1-7 of Season 3 just in time to be caught up when the show came back after the end of the Olympics.

As a result of bringing myself up to speed with Chuck in so short a time, the character of Daniel Shaw has, in a sense, always been a part of the show for me. Getting to see him return in “vs. the Santa Suit” next week is a bit of a trip down memory lane for me, to the time when I first became not only a fan of this show, but for the first time, an active participant in a show’s fan community.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A quick “Chuck” post on the return of Daniel Shaw

  1. Claudia says:

    Hi Matt,

    Interesting post. I actually started watching the show for Brandon Routh (big fan since Superman). I had never heard about Chuck, but when I heard BR was guesting, I decided to check out the show. So I bought season 1, and really loved the pilot. I watched the whole season in less than 2 days, lol. The whole thing was so exciting! Then I watched S2 online right before S3 started. I guess I’m in the minority when it comes to VS the Mask, because I really like it (I know others who do to). And I loved the Shaw/Sarah romance.. I wish it had been more deep but I understand this is Chuck show so he had to get the girl. Season 3 is my fav, sure it helps that Brandon played agent Shaw, but I really loved the storyline for all the characters. There was so much character development, cool action, exciting twists and some great comedy. There was also lots of compelling drama and intrigue. Daniel Shaw’s story and how different he was from Chuck made the season very interesting for me. I have to say that I’m not one of those fans that focus so much on the Chuck/Sarah romance. In fact, I just tolerate it, haha. I feel like the show tries too much sometimes and it’s just too corny and cheesy and annoying for me. I’m more a fan of the intrigue, comedy and action in the show. Any way, nice to hear that you’re looking forward to Shaw’s return. I heard his episode is really good. That makes me even more excited, even if I’m sure he’ll die this time.. I guess he deserves it AND deep down WANTS it. Hope you love the ep! 🙂

    • Matt says:

      Thanks, Claudia! I’m definitely looking forward to Friday’s episode, especially to find out what Chuck meant when he said “Don’t be so sure” in response to Shaw’s comment about Chuck not having an Intersect to rely on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

